Part-Time Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award

All faculty members who taught less than full-time in the preceding calendar year are eligible to be nominated for the Part-Time Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award.  One award may be bestowed in each academic college annually.  The award will consist of a certificate and a monetary award of $1,000.   Policy and procedures may be found on the Faculty Senate website.

2014 Award Recipients

College of Applied Arts: Stacie McGee
McCoy College of Business: Monica McNabb
College of Education: Carolyn Clay
College of Fine Arts and Communication: Michelle Dahlenburg
College of Liberal Arts: Susan Hanson
College of Science and Engineering: Austin Talley

Please click the recipient name to see their nomination form.

Who Are the Nontenure Line Faculty?

As of spring 2015, the Texas State University faculty included 919 nontenure line faculty -- 458 employed full-time and 461 teaching part-time -- constituting slightly over 50 percent of the total faculty. 
PPS 7.22 lists the following titles under its definition of nontenure line faculty:  
Senior Lecturer
Clinical Lecturer
Clinical Assistant Professor
Clinical Associate Professor
Clinical Professor
Research Assistant Professor
Research Associate Professor
Research Professor
Visiting Lecturer
Visiting Assistant Professor
Visiting Associate Professor
Visiting Professor
Assistant Professor Emeritus
Associate Professor Emeritus
Professor Emeritus
Distinguished Professor Emeritus
"Temporary, non-continuing faculty play an essential role in carrying out the educational mission of this institution. These faculty are a pool of talent that can enhance the quality of instruction, research, and service. It is therefore critical that the university ensure that this group of faculty be treated in a fair and equitable manner. It should be recognized that temporary, non-continuing faculty benefit the university, department, and students." (PPS 7.14)

Nontenure Line Faculty Website Mission 

In fall 2012, the Faculty Senate’s Nontenure Line Faculty Committee received authorization to construct a website accessible from the university homepage via the Faculty & Staff dropdown menu. The nontenure line faculty play an essential role in delivering curriculum and contributing to the culture of creativity and scholarship at Texas State University. This website was conceived to serve the needs and interests of the Texas State nontenure line faculty, as well as to publicize and promote their myriad accomplishments.
Comments, suggestions, and questions can be directed to your department's Nontenure Line Faculty Committee Member or Liaison or to the Nontenure Line Faculty Committee Chair, c/o

Nontenure Line Faculty Committee

The Nontenure Line Faculty Committee meets once a month. 

Information on meeting times and minutes

Current members of the Nontenure Line Faculty Committee

Nontenure Line Faculty Workload Release

In recognition of the essential role of the nontenure line faculty in delivering curriculum and contributing to the culture of scholarship at Texas State University, a Nontenure Line Faculty Workload Release program has been established to allow full-time, non tenure-track faculty to receive up to a 6 workload credit reduction of their normal semester teaching load (at full pay and benefits) to pursue scholarly/creative projects, curriculum development, or teaching improvement projects.

PPS 8.13 (Nontenure Line Faculty Workload Release) is being updated.

Nontenure Line Faculty Workload Release Recipients 2014-2016